Home | Visit and Learn | Geography


Regina, Saskatchewan (GMT-6:00)Beijing, China (GMT+8:00)Mumbai, India (GMT + 5:30)London, UK (GMT + 0:00)
Geography PDF Print E-mail

Saskatchewan borders the Northwest Territories on the 60th parallel, and the south by the U.S. states on the 49th parallel boundary. It is also one of only two provinces that are land-locked, the other being Alberta. Saskatchewan, and its capital city of Regina, are the geographical centres of North America making it an important link between Vancouver and Toronto and access into the United States.

Saskatchewan has four ecozones - the prairie, boreal plains, boreal shield, and taiga shield - and three natural vegetation regions - grassland, parkland, and forest.

Saskatchewan’s climate can be classified a number of different ways. Generally, the southern areas (especially the southwest) are drier, while the north has cooler summers and colder winters.

Saskatchewan contains two major natural regions: the Canadian Shield in the north and the Interior Plains in the south. Northern Saskatchewan is mostly covered by boreal forest except for The Lake Athabasca Sand Dunes, the largest active sand dunes in the world north of 58°. The Cypress Hills, located in the southwestern corner of Saskatchewan and Grasslands National Park are areas of the province that remained unglaciated during the last glaciation period. The province's highest point, 1,468m/m is located in the Cypress Hills. The lowest point, 213m is the shore of Lake Athabasca in the far north. The province has nine distinct drainage basins made up of various rivers and watersheds draining into the Arctic Ocean, Hudson Bay, and Gulf of Mexico.

Excerpt from Encyclopedia of Saskatchewan.



Saskatchewan in the News